UPSB v4

Off-topic / Choose between these 2 laptops...

1. Twine
    Date: Sat, Jan 14 2012 01:19:37

Absolute computer noob here with a quick question. I'm looking for a laptop for college but I want to be able to play a few games and what not on it as well just for the sake of it (think skyrim type graphics). Now With my budget I have come to these 2 laptops: Acer AS5755G: >15.6" >I5 core @ 2.4GHz >4gb RAM >750gb HDD >Nvidia 1gb graphics Or Toshiba Stelitte L750 >15.6" >Intel I7 core >4gb RAM >500gb HDD >nvidia 1gb graphics. Both are to exact same price. What should I get? Or do you have any other advice for me?

2. Mats
    Date: Sat, Jan 14 2012 01:24:08

No clock speed on the second one? Well, if the clock speeds are roughly matched, or the second is on a few hundred Mhz slower, I would get the second. If you are only playing 'a few games' you won't need the extra 250 gigs of hard disk space, but you might appreciate the extra performance of the i7 processor. Although, looking at the specs for Skyrim (Processor: Dual Core 2.0GHz or equivalent processor minimum), you might struggle to play such games on these laptops.

3. Twine
    Date: Sat, Jan 14 2012 01:29:37

Hmm scratch that... Found a different acer for a cheaper price. i7 quad core 4gb RAM 750gb HDD nvidia 2gb graphics. Should I get this?

4. XYZaki
    Date: Sat, Jan 14 2012 01:33:03

Mats wrote: Although, looking at the specs for Skyrim (Processor: Dual Core 2.0GHz or equivalent processor minimum), you might struggle to play such games on these laptops.