UPSB v4

General Discussion / Stereotyping

1. sl4d3
    Date: Thu, Sep 8 2011 08:38:36

Although, my account register date will show 9/8/11. I guarantee you I have been spinning since 2005. I'm asian. Of course I am. Statistically, it isn't a surprise that a member of this board is asian. In my 6 years of spinning, the only comments that people make toward my pen spinning is that it is "bad ass." I'd like to assume that it is because my pen, a unmodified Pentel RSVP, isn't flashy and colorful or that I'm what you'd imagine when "closet nerd" comes to mind. But being asian doesn't exactly help break the stereotype of asians being nerds. Guaranteed if a black person was spinning, it'd be 'gangsta.' This rant is brought on by, about 5 different random people spinning in front of my face, hoping to make a new friend, during different classes of my college career. All of the people who spun in my face are visible asian nerds. (True statement. Not racist.) I don't think it's racist if I despise people who add to any stereotype regardless of ethnicity. Is that racism? I'm probably really racist and don't know it :( My point is, are members of the board flaming nerds when it comes to pen spinning? Or do they quietly spin their pen as they listen to lecture?

2. King
    Date: Thu, Sep 8 2011 16:05:07

Dunno about everyone else but i usually keep to myself unless someone asks about it. Then i give them a "I have a lot of time on my hands" Or "Its something to do during class."

3. GeeGeeGee
    Date: Thu, Sep 8 2011 21:31:23

haha asian nerds ...it's not true anymore. i'm asian (viet) and i play basketball, dance, and ps. I'm pretty smart but not crazy smart. I like outdoor sports something that gets me moving. my point is i'm not nerd or geek. I just ps because it's cool. btw i don't wear glasses ..lol what type of asian are you? you're nerd? usually people who on the computer more than anyone else know about penspinning so yeah, mostly nerd.

4. shoeman6