UPSB v4

Member Introductions / Complete NOOB here, just had a question or two...

1. dade
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 17:03:43

Hi there. My name's Clay, and I'm a fan of skill toys. I started this tradition where I give away a new skill toy as x-mas presents to all my friends. This is where my question is: While I can appreciate mods, I'm looking for something my friends can grab right away and use without moding at all. Is there a good beginner pen out there for around $20? And could any one recommend a few reputable stores that I could check out some cool pens? I appreciate the help!

2. Danny116
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 17:16:35

http://penwish.com/ Best pen spinning store out there imo xD beginner pen mods are pretty cheap, 5-10 bucks, some are ever cheaper stick to a comssa based mod, great for beginner x)

3. dade
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 17:32:48

Thanks Danny. I like the look of Rushon mods too! Are they any good? I'm looking to spend $15 or under for the x-mas presents, maybe even $20 for my own.

4. Quake
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 18:05:23

a mod is a pen modified for spinning. hence the name mod. another store http://penspinstore.com/ :)

5. Danny116
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 18:17:20

@dade rushon mods are VERY light, you might as well use a pencil IMO they are perfect for learning the 4 fundemental tricks: http://www.upsb.info/wiki/index.php?title=Category:Fundamentals and their more difficult variations, once you get a strong grasp on those tricks then its all personal preference for a new mod

6. Wisp
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 19:03:45

Welcome to UPSB. If you live in the USA then you could easily make an RSVP mx. All you need is a Pentel RSVP and a Hybrid Gel Grip Pen. It takes about 10 Minutes to make one mod and they look rather good. :welcome:

7. dade
    Date: Mon, Sep 5 2011 20:20:38