UPSB v4

Off-topic / Looking for some good Laptop advice

1. Twine
    Date: Sun, Sep 4 2011 08:11:36

Okay, my parents said if I get 2 subjects excellence endorsed this year (NZ schooling system) I get a laptop. Now, I [B]know[/B] I will get these endorsements because I can, so my problem is what laptops are good?? Like what are some general good things too look for in a laptop. Be aware you are talking to a total noob in the tech side of computers. So, please try and explain things easily for me :3 Here are some of the basic things I am looking for: > Runs fast. No laggy shit. Like I want it to be able to open things quickly, have multiple programmes open at the same time and whatnot without it going derp speed on me. > Has a half decent graphics thingy in it. The computer I am on atm can't even play stepmania or Minecraft ffs. So it would be nice it at least be able to play games like that lol. I'm not looking for anything fancy at all cos I have absolutely no intention of playing games on the laptop. >Windows OS. (what's a good windows system that leaves the computer fast, yet it still half decent *thinking xp*)? >Preferably not large and NOT heavy. That's it I guess. I'm planning on using it for Uni, you know taking notes at courses and what not. Thinking about engineering course if that helps you help me :). Any if you read all that and proceed to reply with help now, you are my hero <3 <3 THANK YOU :)

2. Yamaguchi
    Date: Sun, Sep 4 2011 08:15:59

HP laptops?

3. davidguy
    Date: Sun, Sep 4 2011 08:20:46

@iMatt

4. jaychou
    Date: Sun, Sep 4 2011 08:38:04

uh just a quick pointer, don't get HP laptops in case their system goes haywire from ditching or transferring the PC line

5. Twine
    Date: Sun, Sep 4 2011 08:41:34

jaychou wrote: uh just a quick pointer, don't get HP laptops in case their system goes haywire from ditching or transferring the PC line
    Thanks, I'll keep that in mind. *patiently waits for iMatt :3

6. PREDATORNET