UPSB v4

Off-topic / Being absent from school.

1. Enkronidus
    Date: Wed, Jun 22 2011 09:40:58

Hi, I have a question here. Well, for myself. I have a feeling that school isn't a totally necessary thing and plus that I'm not a totally healthy person myself. I have been absent a lot since Grade.. 1? And I'm still one of the top in the classes, spend some of my time study and make research on my own. So, right now I'm in high school. The rules of the school are a little different from before. The basic system here in Thailand for school applies that you can't be absent for over 20%, or you won't have enough properties and therefore, won't be able to take the final examination. But in some schools are kind enough to be tolerant and give you extra works and/or you have to go take the summer course to fill your present state. I'm currently studying in English-Program system, so I gain a small privillage to normal students in my school. But still not sure what's going to happen. I know that the point of making such thing here in Thailand is to keep the students in the 'right place for them'. But not that all of the absent students go to arcade or shopping at the mall, especially if some of them are still doing good with their study. So they should at least permit for the 'good' students, but not really. Of course, we can just hire a teacher to teach us at home, but let's say I have a reason not to do that. So anyway, I'm asking whether or not the schools in other countries are strict about the absent of student and how?

2. Krypton
    Date: Wed, Jun 22 2011 10:12:03