UPSB v4

Member Introductions / Greetings, fellow mortals (and other)

1. Phlippieskezer
    Date: Tue, Apr 19 2011 01:52:36

Hello! I started (or at least tried to start) pen spinning yesterday, so I'm VERY new to this business. So, I've read through the (Fundamentals) FAQ, and I've watched a video for each fundamental trick. I can do Thumbaround with relative success (60 -70%; my catching sucks), though it's not absolutely smooth, and is pretty slow. I can do Sonic, though my success rate is below 50%, I'd estimate. I can do fingerpass (simple, easy), but not smoothly (oh my gosh! Hard!). I also tried charge, but I'm not sure if I'm doing it right. -.- My only questions are as follows: Which fundamental is best to start with? Does it matter? If it doesn't, I'll probably just keep practising Thumbaround, as I'm best at it. Um... Pens? I'm currently using an old pen I had lying about in my drawer (don't know what it's called) and... I can just about only use that pen, as I have more difficulty with any of the others than this. I see the RSVP Pentel pen is mentioned for beginners a lot. Should I go and drop by Staples and get one? I really don't know anything about pens for pen spinning. Are some pens simply better than others for pen spinning, or is it all preference? (Probably both. That's what I assume, anyway) Lastly, I'm a (South African) Vancouverite (well, I'm technically in Delta, Canada). I don't know any one who pen spins (or at least I don't know they pen spin), so I should probably find some group in regard to this? Recommendations? Thanks for any and all help. Also, hello again! Hopefully I last! P.S. I heard about this from the Speedsolving.com forums (I'm a speed and blindfold cuber), and I thought it seemed like a neat hobby, just so you know.

2. jet
    Date: Tue, Apr 19 2011 02:42:44