UPSB v4

Off-topic / Playing by ear help?

1. ShadowParadox
    Date: Sun, Aug 10 2014 15:39:38

What's up guys?! I've been playing piano for a long time and recently have wanted to get off playing off sheet and start playing by ear. Are any of you guys able to do this and can give me some tips please. Thanks

2. hahakumquat
    Date: Sun, Aug 10 2014 18:41:53

Oh, cool. Improvisation is definitely a lot more fun than sheet music. I started practicing actually by watching people's tutorials on popular songs. Chord progressions are always simple; the harder part is the melody. After learning one or two songs (one in a major key, one in a minor key), you begin noticing patterns of chords that are repeated. Next is the hardest part. You have to really learn a key and how all the sounds go together. For me, I started with A minor/C major since they were easiest. Transposing the songs in my head came naturally (I've heard it's difficult for some people). Finally just keep playing a bunch of songs, be experimental, find things you like and things you don't like, etc etc. Left hand will play chords, right hand will do a simple melody. And then you get this Good luck! disclaimer this is only for crappy improvisation lol

3. ChainBreak
    Date: Mon, Aug 11 2014 00:49:18