UPSB v4

Linkages & Combos / How do we categorise different phases of combo structure?

1. MPC
    Date: Sun, Aug 10 2014 12:20:02

This is probably a total noob question, but here we go: Without breaking down every individual trick, how do we describe a combo's general structure in phases? I've been looking around for the answer, but can't seem to find anything specific. Would it be correct to breakdown combo phases like we do individual tricks? Like: low diff wiper tricks > high speed FL tricks > high diff power tricks > unique finisher Sorry if that's a dumb or simplistic question, just trying to get an idea of how to compose attractive combos and finding it hard to categorise them in broad terms. :) mpc

2. Reason
    Date: Sun, Aug 10 2014 17:46:52

im not sure if this sort of thing has even been applied before... but i dont really find it being too useful. it seems like a vague version of a breakdown. i guess it could be used to give an idea of an individual spinner's style of structure. i just think its too vague to be used practically... then again, i have a better understanding of things when i can see it happening. yeah so i believe theres no real rules/vocabulary for this yet so i imagine if it was used you just have to use terms that are easy to understand (which wouldnt be hard). the example you have seems to be pretty easy to understand. i've seen people use this type of thing usually for describing problems in structure... such as- hard link>filler>hard link>filler>power tricks>hard link>finisher and that seems to be even more vague than what you describe... i guess its pretty open for use and modification at this point, but idk if such a thing will catch on.

3. Tigres
    Date: Sun, Aug 10 2014 18:18:44