UPSB v4

Off-topic / Dawngate

1. iColor
    Date: Mon, Feb 3 2014 07:44:41

https://www.waystonegames.com/ Anyone playing in the beta currently? If you want to play, use the code: TWITCHDG4

2. Timbo
    Date: Mon, Feb 3 2014 08:41:04

Just watched the video so I'm by no means an expert but... There's not really anything new here. The comparisons to league of legends are obvious for any new MOBA, but this one takes it to a whole new level. Even the aesthetic is exactly the same as LoL. The only fundamentally new thing I see here is the spirit wells in place of dragon/baaron but they don't look all that important. It might genuinely be a better more fine-tuned game (I doubt it though because contrary to people's belief, RIOT is actually really fucking smart) but I think it's too similar to ever catch on. I could be wrong and it could be a 'facebook overtaking myspace' situation but I doubt it. The MOBA business is huge and even taking 1% of that market would be good for the bank account so I can't blame these guys for giving it a shot. Disclaimer: I know that DOTA was the first MOBA and not LoL. I don't play LoL (I haven't for almost a year I guess).

3. iColor
    Date: Mon, Feb 3 2014 15:21:08