UPSB v4

Off-topic / Help me I lack computing power

1. ChainBreak
    Date: Sat, Jul 6 2013 22:23:11

I need help for doing a calculation that my computer would take ages for. If you happen to have Python 3 on your computer and a decent processor + RAM I would kindly ask you to help me out. http://www.mediafire.com/view/4aa88qe6yja1kao/Euler10.py As you can see it's a .py file so no need to worry about it being a virus. If you're still suspicious you can check the Virustotal here: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/bdc42fdc7a0f86f4b6e4a737249e967198ba89ed699ef4bb9b1937b88572003d/analysis/1373149197/ Just press F5 when viewing the script and type euler10alt() into the shell and tell me what the shell outputs. Please help q_q

2. BozoHimSelf
    Date: Sun, Jul 7 2013 11:15:01

It's pretty unrelated to the whole task you're asking for, but I'm a newbie programmer myself. And I'm wondering what Python 3 is, and really what it is used for?

3. ChainBreak
    Date: Sun, Jul 7 2013 11:44:32

Python is a programming language and Python 3 is the newest version of the standart interpreter IDLE.

4. Xienix
    Date: Sun, Jul 7 2013 12:19:25

...@ChainBreak nothing happend so far what now? (i have no idea what am diong : P ) [SPOILER="picture..."][/SPOILER]

5. Pixels
    Date: Sun, Jul 7 2013 12:44:21

i would help you if i can get python to run on my mac. still trying to figure out why it doesnt >______<

6. ChainBreak
    Date: Sun, Jul 7 2013 13:28:05

Xienix wrote: ...@ChainBreak nothing happend so far what now? (i have no idea what am diong : P ) [SPOILER="picture..."]http://i.imgur.com/PdgtlFb.png[/SPOILER]
    It can take some time for the calculation to complete. If you can please try to keep it running. It's a rather long calculation and the result exceeds 32 bits so it can take some time. My computer took almost 2 hours to calculate untill 500 000 and the calculation needs to be done untill 2 000 000. Also the calculation always takes longer with higher numbers =\