UPSB v4

Off-topic / Graphic Cards

1. Jan
    Date: Tue, Jun 26 2012 19:17:43

Recently, I bought a new laptop [HP Pavilion dv7] along with CoD MW3. The graphics card on the laptop is an integrated Intel Graphics 4000. As a result, game play was not as smooth as I hoped and FPS was quite low. I was wondering whenever it was possible, first of all, to change the graphics card on this laptop and if so, what I should get. I am looking not to spend hundreds of dollars because I'm not a professional gamer; however I would like decent high quality for MW3. Please help... and try to keep relevant to my topic; don't bash the game or tell me to get a PC instead. The game is for recreational purposes and I prefer a laptop since I'm still in school.

2. XYZaki
    Date: Tue, Jun 26 2012 19:50:37

You CAN replace the GPU of a laptop. However your choices are limited to replacement parts from other laptops. Such as this. You need to make sure it's compatible first. Another solution is an eGPU. Basically, you use an adapter to turn the ExpressCard port of your laptop into a PCI-E 1.0 slot. Then you buy a video card of your choice. There is some bottleneck but it will be much better than your integrated graphics. You will also need to buy a power supply to power the graphics card. You also won't be able to render the graphics from the eGPU onto your laptop's screen, you will have to use an external monitor, which is fine if you already have a dual monitor setup with your lappy tappy. You can read more about this laborious process here. Of course, this is assuming you even have an Expresscard slot. Otherwise, it's a lot of work just to play games. Buy a fucking PC.

3. GenesisNoir
    Date: Tue, Jun 26 2012 21:23:25