UPSB v4

Serious Discussion / Some Linguistical and Anthropological Theories/Hypothesis/Thoughts

1. Krypton
    Date: Wed, Apr 18 2012 17:02:36

I've been pondering over some scenarios and the possible outcomes, each possible factor taken into consideration, and I would like to know what you guys think. 1) If one wants to be fluent in a language, but have no means to attend a class, he is therefore self taught and the best way is to speak it. Say there are no one in the vicinity speaking that language, and all he has as references and resources are audio lessons and Youtube. He will most likely be conversing to himself in the language all the time. Is it possible to endure say, 6 months of speaking that language all the time to himself? And will he retain his sanity? 2) If a babysitter were to care for a baby during the day, and the babysitter and the parents speak different languages, the baby will most likely pick up words and phrases in the babysitter's native tongue. How will this affect the baby's relationship with the parents, if the baby spends 3 quarters of a day with the babysitter? Is it possible that a language barrier will exist, assuming bilingualism cannot be achieved? 3) How many languages can a regular person learn at the same time assuming that he is a novice in all of them except his mother tongue? Assuming it is in his tertiary education (age is a factor here, younger students are able to absorb better), (can students take many languages in colleges anyway?) Is pronounciation and vocabulary mixup and confusion going to be a risk? I might have more but that's all I can think of. Thanks for your time.

2. ChainBreak
    Date: Wed, Apr 18 2012 21:13:24